Wednesday, March 27, 2013

2013 Blue Jays Opening Day Roster

So it appears that the Jays have decided on their Opening Roster for this season.  It's pretty much what everyone thought it would be with a couple of exceptions.  I'll do a more serious in-some-kind-of-depth look at the players in follow up blog entries (I've got to fill up this space somehow!), but here's a quick list (in alphabetical order by position).

Starting Pitchers

Mark Buehrle
R.A. Dickey
J.A. Happ
Josh Johnson
Brandon Morrow


Brett Cecil
Steve Delabar
Casey Janssen
Jeremy Jeffress
Aaron Loup
Darren Oliver
Esmil Rogers
Sergio Santos


J.P. Arencibia
Henry Blanco


Emilio Bonifacio
Mark DeRosa
Edwin Encarnacion
Maicer Izturis
Adam Lind
Jose Reyes


Jose Bautista
Melky Cabrera
Rajai Davis
Colby Rasmus

The only real surprises are J.A. Happ instead of Ricky Romero, and the fact that Brett Lawrie was placed on the 15-day DL (retroactive to March 22) to start the year.  The Jays have announced that they'll keep 8 pitchers in the bullpen until Lawrie can return.

No comments:

Post a Comment